Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, Chapter 1, Sutra 17

"Samprajñata, the samadhi of wisdom, occurs through the accompaniment of the appearances of gross thought (vitarka), subtle thought (vichara), ecstasy (ananda) and I-am-ness (asmita)." Swami Veda Bharati

Explanation: There are four types of samprajñata samadhi, depending on the object of concentration. When the concentration is on a gross object, such as something in the world,it is called savitarka; when on a subtle object, such as subtle matter, or a subtle faculty of reception, vichara, it is called savichara; when upon a feeling of bliss, it is called sa-ananda; and when upon the pure “I-sense” it is called sa-asmita . In all of these types of samadhis, the mind is not totally arrested.

This document is also found in and on facebook.


19 Dec 2021;
07:00PM - 08:00PM
Full Moon Meditation 2020